MCA History

The Mississippi Cattlemen's Association was developed by Paul Newell, a former MCES (Mississippi Cooperative Extension Service) leader in animal science, and Charles Whittington, a cattleman from Greenwood, MS. The two men presented their idea at the first annual cattle field day at the Mississippi State College on May 16, 1946. With overwhelming response, the idea was voted on and passed.

At the field day, officers were elected and the Mississippi Cattlemen's Association was established. Charles Whittington was elected president, Walter Swoope was vice president and Paul Newell, secretary. Annual dues were set at three dollars. Amazingly, 250 members joined that very day and the association work began.

Since the early days MCA has continued to grow and has seen tremendous accomplishments in many areas. MCA was instrumental in establishing the Dixie National Livestock Show which today has grown into one of the premier livestock shows in the United States.

Through many untiring hours, MCA employees have worked to secure the passage of dozens of bills that protect the best interests of Mississippi cattlemen. One such bill is the 1983 Dog Law which made it legal for cattlemen to destroy dogs that kill livestock and to hold the dogs' owners responsible for the damage. Another is the Property Owner's Rights bill. MCA helped to defeat legislation imposing federal land use planning on ranchers and farmers.

MCA also helped to defeat the USDA proposal to collect fees on all cattle marketed to pay for the Brucellosis eradication program. Another accomplishment of MCA was to help create the Livestock Theft Bureau which went into effect July 1, 1993.

After a three-year effort by the staff and officers, 1998 saw the repeal of sales tax on vaccines, dewormers and other animal health products used by cattlemen.  Since then, Mississippi producers have saved hundreds of thousands of dollars in taxes.

In 2002, Mississippi passed one of one of the first beef labeling laws in the U.S. thanks to the initiative of MCA.

MCA has certainly outgrown its forefathers expectations. Today, your state cattlemen's association represents over 3,800 members. MCA is facing some of its toughest challenges ever, with such issues as animal rights, environmental concerns, foreign animal diseases and private property rights. We must battle every day for your protection. We are proud of the progress that MCA has made and we look forward to many successful years serving Mississippi cattlemen like you!

Steering Committee

Jeff Magee


101 Pecan Drive 

Batesville, MS 38606

(662) 292-0757

Janet Parker

First Vice President

165 Herbert Trigging Rd 

Seminary, MS 39479

(601) 299-0015

Bob Robinson

Second Vice President

978 Gulde Shiloh  Rd

Brandon, MS 39042

(601) 906-1796

Mike Murry

Past President

1754 Ovett/Petal Rd

Ovett, MS 39464

(601) 310-0421 

Clint Ladner

Past President

1055 White Station Rd

West Point, MS 39116

(662) 812-8370

Area Vice Presidents

David McDonald 

Area 1

9450 Peyton Rd

Coldwater, MS 38618

(662) 292-3794

Randy Walker

Area 2

1533 Hwy 178
Potts Camp, MS 38659

Aaron Roebuck

Area 3

2773 AR 2263
French Camp, MS 39745

(662) 312-7889

John Elliott

Area 4

3105 Pruit Rd

West Point, MS 39773

(662) 295-3854

Steve Purvis 

Area 5

2151 Purvis Road 

Hermanville, MS 39042

(601) 415-7739

Hollis Blackwell

Area 6

P.O. Box 1204

Raleigh, MS 39152

(601)  214-7410

Larry Sasser

Area 7

913 Bogue Chitto RD, SW

Bogue Chitto, MS 39629

(610) 734-6002

Jason Lea

Area 8

81 Ruby Lea Rd

Sontag, MS 39665

(601) 757-6675

Nick Contestible 

Area 9

168 Van Hoover West Rd 

Laurel, MS 39443

(251) 490-5165

John Corley

Area 10

545 Ortho Davis Rd

Lumberton, MS

(601) 818-5205


Andy Berry

Executive Vice President

(601) 354-8951

Kirsta Murphree

Director of Communications
MJCA Advisor

(601) 354-8951